“To touch the soul of another human being is to walk on holy ground.”

The above is a quote by Steven Covey that I like very much.

I guess I like it because:

I have on occasions felt the complete peace of walking on such ground .. or have been witness to some other walking on such ground.. at moments like that it feels so good to be human….

I feel this is such an important part of the  human experience that I need to cultivate this into a regular habit in myself..  To be honest I have been trying for much of my life but emotional traits like fear, anger, guilt, shame, desire, greed etc often get in the way. And I see the same thing going on in most of humanity.

However if we understood these emotional traits better, I think humanity would display much greater emotional intelligence then at present.

One way to achieve a greater understanding in the present educational system would be to include  Emotional Intelligence as a subject into the curriculum.. the way say biology is at the moment…

Other then that I guess it is every parents responsibility to get clued up on emotional intelligence and teach their children.

Anyway here are some other quotes from Steven that I like alot…

“Be a light, not a judge. Be a model, not a critic”

“Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.”

“We are not human beings on a spiritual journey. We are spiritual beings on a human journey.”

“It’s not what happens to us, but our response to what happens to us that hurts us.”

“I teach people how to treat me by what I will allow.”

“Sow a thought, reap an action; sow an action, reap a habit; sow a habit, reap a character; sow a character, reap a destiny.”

“Admission of ignorance is often the first step in our education.”

“How different our lives are when we really know what is deeply important to us, and keeping that picture in mind, we manage ourselves each day to be and to do what really matters most.”

“We are free to choose our actions, . . . but we are not free to choose the consequences of these actions.”

Every human has four endowments- self awareness, conscience, independent will and creative imagination. These give us the ultimate human freedom… The power to choose, to respond, to change.

“You have to decide what your highest priorities are and have the courage—pleasantly, smilingly, nonapologetically, to say “no” to other things. And the way you do that is by having a bigger “yes” burning inside. The enemy of the “best” is often the “good.”

 



Leave a Reply

