God be in my head

God be in my head, and in my understanding;
God be in my eyes, and in my looking;
God be in my mouth, and in my speaking;
God be in my heart, and in my thinking;
God be at my end, and at my departing.

I read the above in a poetry book at school at the age of eight/ nine.

We had just come from India to live in England and I was bullied and beaten mercilessly.

I could not for the life of me understand the hatred and disgust some of the white kids would beam at me as they spat out the word Paki. The Black kids would do the same except the word was Khoolie and the two other Indian girls who could speak English  fluently would actually pay (with sweets and money) other kids to bully me however they fancied.

One of them one day just for the hell of it poked me with a pencil in my arm. It somehow got tattooed on my arm… I still have a black spot there 42 years later. These and a few very personal experiences taught me there is no such thing as “Your own Kind”. There is Ignorance or there is Light. That’s it.

I vowed I would always rise above this type of behaviour, stick up for the “underdog”…and find strength in Love/God.

This attitude/passion has served me well in this life as it has been the greatest spiritual teacher. That is not to say it has not come with pain…It has come with IMMENSE pain because humanity is sometimes so far from love…

It seems… Humanity’s understanding of love, respect, responsibility appears to be at a most primitive state. A state in which I feel uncomfortable and a misfit.

The present  interpretation of religions by much of humanity does nothing to stem  the leaking of love out of our bodies and its replacement with fear, hate and ignorance.



Leave a Reply

