I love you India

India means so much to me …

Her beauty is breathtaking

From her mountains to her deserts

From her cultures to her variety of races

From her history to her art she has stolen many hearts

She is pure inspiration to those who seek to be king

Over their minds, emotions, high on a spiritual swing

From the Sikh Gurus to the Sufis, with love did they sing

Praises of God with open wings

The Jains and the Buddhists, the Parsees, the Jews

The Hindu Yogis, they love India too

She is all embracing

Islam and Christianity are her friends too

Have I missed someone out? Some religion some sect?

I know mother India, she will not forget.

Her memory seduces folks like me and you

She knows how to win our mind and emotions

She knows all will fall in love

No need for love potions

It is a land of extremes too

In every sense it seems

From the poor to the rich

From the cold to the heat

From the mountains to the plains

From the Taj to the Slums

From the sinners to the saints

It is a dynamite of emotions

His ugliness is heartbreaking

He is the land of Castes and Sati

He is the land of female infanticide

He is the land of dowries and burning brides

His cruelty to women led me to take a step outside

India gave birth to me, and taught me so much.

I thank you for being you. Perfect, you are not.

I love you, I need to, see you grow strong.

No slave to no man or culture but God.

I love you India!


2 Comments on “I love you India”

  1. Bholan says:

    This is beautiful and it reminds of what I am missing so much. Living in totally divine INDIA.

    I have to do what needs to be done. Looking after my precious Rishab and I will enjoy that knowing that he may have been born in a firangi land, but he is truly Indian.

    I love you Jatinder, you are a precious gem too.

    • D.Sahiba, thanks for all the warmth, love & support you have given me the last quarter of a century…

      And I see there is no let up🙂

      For me I see India in all, her/its/his shades and together they form something like a chord that is really…binding to me at every level..

      By the way if I am a gem then you can call me Ruby, Jade, Heera, Ratana, Pearl, Gemma, Beryl, Amber, Coral, Crystal, Goldie… (can`t think of anymore)🙂


Leave a Reply

